Delhi: Laxmikant Vajpayee became the Chief Whip of BJP after going to Rajya Sabha

Share the News -

New Delhi : Newly-elected Rajya Sabha member Laxmikant Vajpayee has been given a big responsibility by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as soon as he reaches the Rajya Sabha. He has been made the new Chief Whip of the party in the Rajya Sabha.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prahlad Joshi gave this information on Friday. Vajpayee, who was the BJP’s Uttar Pradesh unit president, will replace Shiv Pratap Shukla. Recently, Shukla’s term in the Rajya Sabha ended. Joshi said, “Lakshmikant Vajpayee has been appointed as the chief whip of the BJP in the Rajya Sabha.” A four-time member of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly, Vajpayee is counted among the strong Brahmin faces of the party. He belongs to Western Uttar Pradesh. Let us tell you that during the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Vajpayee was the President of BJP in UP. The BJP had won 71 seats out of 80 at that time. After him Keshav Prasad Maurya was given this responsibility.

ALSO READ:  Delhi: Its historic...Women's Reservation Bill passed unanimously in Rajya Sabha, 215 MPs voted

During the assembly elections, Vajpayee had refused to contest from Meerut. Later he became the chairman of the joining committee of BJP. Vijaypal Singh Tomar and Kanta Kardam of Western UP are already in the Rajya Sabha.

ALSO READ:  Delhi : Canadian Embassy in Delhi asks local staff to leave office

The BJP recently appointed Union Minister Piyush Goyal as the leader of the party in the Rajya Sabha. However, after the term of former Union minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi in ​​the Rajya Sabha ended, the BJP has not appointed anyone as a deputy leader in the Upper House in his place.

To get latest news updates -

👉 Join our WhatsApp Group

👉 Like our Facebook Page

Related Articles

English हिन्दी