Delhi: 1988 batch IPS officer Sanjay Arora will be the new Commissioner of Delhi Police

Share the News -

New Delhi : IPS Officer Sanjay Arora will be the new Commissioner of Delhi Police. Sanjay Arora was shifted from Telangana cadre to ADMUT cadre under the Inter-cadre deputation policy today. At the same time, as soon as he came in this cadre, he was given the responsibility of the new Commissioner of Delhi Police.

He is a 1988 batch IPS officer of Tamil Nadu cadre. Today he was shifted from Tamil Nadu cadre to AGMUT cadre under the Inter-cadre deputation policy. At the same time, he has been given the responsibility of the new Commissioner of Delhi Police as soon as he comes in this cadre. IPS Sanjay Arora has obtained a bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Malviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur (Rajasthan). After joining the IPS, he worked in various positions in the Tamil Nadu Police. He was the Superintendent of Police (SP) of the Special Task Force, where he achieved significant success against the Veerappan gang, for which he was awarded the Chief Minister’s Gallantry Medal.

ALSO READ:  Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will contest from Wayanad in Kerala, Rahul will be MP from Rae Bareli, said Namaskar to Wayanad

After being trained by the NSG, in 1991, Arora was instrumental in the formation of the Special Security Group (SSG) to provide security to the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu during the heyday of LTTE activity. He also served as the Superintendent of Police of various districts of Tamil Nadu. He has the privilege of serving in the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) on deputation as Commandant from 1997 to 2002.

From 1997 to 2000, he commanded a border guarding force of the ITBP battalion in Matli, Uttarakhand. As a trainer, he made remarkable contribution in the field of training. Served as Commandant (Combat Wing) at ITBP Academy, Mussoorie from 2000 to 2002. Then he served as the Commissioner of Police, Coimbatore City from 2002 to 2004. He has also served as Deputy Inspector General of Police, Villupuram Range and Deputy Director of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption.

ALSO READ:  India's Shruti Vora has created history by winning the three-star Grand Prix competition in equestrian. She is the first Indian equestrian to win this title

He has headed the Chennai City Police as Additional Commissioner – Crime and Headquarters and Additional Commissioner – Traffic. On promotion, he was posted as ADGP (Operations) and ADGP (Administration) in Tamil Nadu Police. He has worked as IG (Special Operations) BSF, IG Chhattisgarh Sector CRPF and IG Operations CRPF. He has also served as ADG Headquarters and Operations CRPF and Special DG Jammu and Kashmir Zone CRPF before being appointed as Director General of ITBP.

He took over as the 31st Chief on August 31, 2021 as DG ITBP. He has been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, the Police Special Duty Medal, the Internal Security Medal and the United Nations Peace Medal, among others.


To get latest news updates -

👉 Join our WhatsApp Group

👉 Like our Facebook Page

Related Articles

English हिन्दी